Borough president Ruben Diaz Jr. has appointed six new members to Community Board 1.

The board represents Mott Haven, Melrose and Port Morris in an advisory capacity on issues ranging from land use and housing to schools and jobs. Applicants must live or work in the community.

The new appointees are Passyna Bula-Bula, Michael C. Brady, Jessica Clemente, Eileen Marquez, Linda Ortiz, and Hakiem A. Yahmadi.

They will join 17 serving board members whom Diaz reappointed. They are Nyande Ambroise, Carmen Aquino, Betty Bryant, Gloria Cruz, Linda Duke, John Lemon, Jorge Leon, John Johnson, Nellie McKay, Evelyn Munoz, Walter C. Nash, Arline Parks, George Rodriguez, Carmen Santos, Betty Wessley, Tracy Alicia Woodall, and Delores Worrell-Waller.

A. Mychal Johnson was the only board member who applied for reappointment and was turned down.

About Post Author

By Editor